Look For Me In Rainbows

Dear Diary,

Coping with the death of a parent is one of the most difficult things to come to terms with in life. Yesterday, I attended a funeral where two teenage children buried their mother. Every now and again the fragility of life hits you and this was one of those days.

The children have coped so well and the support of their father and extended family has been remarkable. There have been no cultural pressures, just to mourn their mother as they see fit. Both children said of their mother, “she would want us to celebrate her life and that is what shall do”.

The 14 year old daughter spoke in front of 150 people and read the below poem which just made me cry. I thought I would share it with you.

Look For Me In Rainbows by Vicky Brown

Time for me to go now, I won’t say goodbye;
Look for me in rainbows, way up in the sky.
In the morning sunrise when all the world is new,
Just look for me and love me, as you know I loved you.

Time for me to leave you, I won’t say goodbye;
Look for me in rainbows, high up in the sky.
In the evening sunset, when all the world is through,
Just look for me and love me, and I’ll be close to you.

It won’t be forever, the day will come and then
My loving arms will hold you, when we meet again.

Time for us to part now, we won’t say goodbye;
Look for me in rainbows, shining in the sky.
Every waking moment, and all your whole life through
Just look for me and love me, as you know I loved you.

Just wish me to be near you,
And I’ll be there with you.

Bunty

9 Comments to “Look For Me In Rainbows”

  1. Beautiful poem and sentiment. A brave 14 year old – thank you for sharing xxx

  2. it is a lovely poem and a very sad story

  3. Thank you for sharing these lyrics. Today, Aug 4th, would have been my Mum’s 70th birthday. Hard to imagine, as she died nearly 21 years ago, when I too were a teenager. Today, my Aunty (her sister) requested Vicky Brown’s song-version of this on the local radio. I’d never heard it before, but loved it instantly. Obviously, the tears dripped into our champagne as we happily remembered her! Googling more info on it now led me to this page – it couldn’t be more poignant. Thank you. (Would love to hear Streisand sing it!!)

  4. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post posted at this site is in fact nice.

  5. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.
    I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own website now
    ūüėČ

  6. If you want to obtain a good deal from this post then you have to apply such strategies to your won blog.

  7. Hi, this weekend is pleasant in favor of me, since this time i am reading this great educational post here
    at my residence.

    • I agree, it is a truly lovely piece isn’t it? Very inspiring and what a brave young girl to speak at her mother’s funeral. She is a credit to her parents

Leave a Reply

