Oprah’s Last Day

“So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, goodbye, I leave and heave a sigh and say goodbye, good bye”.

The above lyrics are from the Sound of Music, but they could well have been said by Oprah Winfrey yesterday as she hosted an hour long emotional final show. I haven’t watched Oprah in years, but even I was rather sad at the thought that after 25 years, the Oprah Winfrey Show would be no longer.

She has been part of my life since I was a teenager. I recall tuning into her shows with my aunt and listening to her familiar interview style, her sighs and cries. Even though we didn’t like to admit it in school, Oprah’s subjects were talked about amongst girls and she really was a “girl thing”.

For me, she is an inspirational woman who despite her impoverished and abused background has become one of the most successful women in show business. She was the first African American billionaire in American history and still today, is the only African American woman in the Forbes 2011 billionaires list.

Oprah is known for her compassion, empathy and has worn her heart on her sleeve. But it was her public struggle with obesity that won her the hearts of women all over the world. And then there was her relationship with Stedman. Most women could identify with this roller coaster of a relationship. Her colleagues speak of her generosity which is marvellously displayed in her philanthropy. She has made it her goal to help as many girls like herself be achievers. When we speak of role models, Oprah is one.

Reading some of her farewell tributes, I really can understand why Oprah has got so many fans. Her viewing figures may have halved in the past decade but her fans will always be her fans even if they do not watch her shows.

Good Luck Oprah.

Bunty

2 Comments to “Oprah’s Last Day”

  1. I used to love watching oprah after school and her interview with Michael Jackson was such a high point. She seems very down to earth but lately her shows were a bit too American for me. I know she is American and it’s an American show but you know what I mean!

  2. I love Oprah – she was slightly annoying in her old age but she is a fab woman.

    The best thing about her is that she refused to pay her guests to come on the show and that instantly gave her that genuine edge. I also love her for getting to where she and looking properly black, as opposed to sugar-coated black like the talentless nice tits halle berrys of the world.

    The reason her shows got boring is that they all became family-orientated and zzz shows about how to bring up kids etc. I don’t care about how kids are brought up as long as they are not brought up American!

Leave a Reply

