Get What You Pay For

We often say, “you get what you pay for” but do you really? My recent shopping experiences in some high end retailers has proved that you can pay a very high price to get very little.  In fact, what you get for buying a £200 shirt is snubbed, tutted and a hand waiting for your credit card without even telling you how much you owe them.

Have they never seen Mary Portas in Secret Shopper?

I guess I have an expectation of the level of service depending on how much I spend. If I go and stay in a 5 star hotel, I expect 5 star service. Equally, if I buy from a designer boutique, I expect an exceptional level of service.

My recent experiences at a high end retailer in central London, left me complaining to their head office on poor quality product and customer service. I was about to buy a shirt when I found lots of thread ends on the shirt and the inside of the pockets were poorly made. I asked if there was another as this must have slipped through the net. Rather than an apology for the poor quality and a replacement shirt, I was merely asked “what was it that I wanted”. My reply was “a good quality shirt”. The sales assistant smirked at me, turned around and carried on folding his shirts. I couldn’t believe the rudeness. I felt extremely hard done by as I am obliged to spend a credit note in a shop that clearly doesn’t value my custom.

A friend who lives in New York talked about the fantastic retail customer service they have there. She is always reluctant to buy from shops that do not provide a refund as she feels that they do not care about the after service. I feel inclined to agree.

Bunty

 

4 Comments to “Get What You Pay For”

  1. Hi Bunty

    Does the shop have another outlet or concession? It does sound like really poor service and you were right to complain about shoddy stitching but perhaps you should have said something to the manager? If people don’t complain no one ever knows there is a problem to look into.

  2. Can you spend your credit note online? I get very anxious spending £200 on something and so it has to be worth it. My anxiety stems from a voice in my head that belongs to my sister saying “did you get that from primark?”

    The worst service I’ve experienced was in Harrods – the service was so bad that the person who was buying me a present refused to buy it from there.

  3. So I am currently stateside, and I have to say, I’ve had some pretty shoddy service while I’ve been here, mostly in higher end stores. I have not shopped for months knowing I was coming here so I had money to burn. The service I got in some places was so bad, that I left without buying anything, even if I liked something there – I know I would associate the bad service I got with the product I bought forever e.g. ‘this bag is soooo gorgeous, but the woman who served me, wow, so rude!’ instead of just ‘this bag is soooo gorgeous, I love it, I love it, I love it!’

    So I think the problem exists both sides of the pond.

    On another note,I find the american idea of service very fake. All the people telling me to have a nice day cannot possibly mean it. Instead of being so over the top, why can’t they just say goodbye? It’s like it’s Disneyland everyday everywhere…

  4. Unfortunately, I couldn’t spend my credit note on-line. It seemed that the attitude was the same in every branch of the store.
    Thanks for sharing your experiences Vakeel Bibi and Mysterious Pinkie.
    Bunty

Leave a Reply

