Keep Up, Keep Up!

Dear Diary,

Over the past few weeks, I have seen how easily children can get left behind if they are not good at something.

My daughter goes to a swimming class. She isn’t very confident in the water and would really benefit from rightful attention. However, both her and another child seem to get half the instructors attention, whilst the competent children receive it all.

During the class, each child is meant to have one to one time with the instructor. My daughter and this other child always wait patiently for their turn. During their turn, the instructors asks the competent children to repeat what they have learnt. Despite being competent they are unable to do this activity without help.  So, during my daughter’s turn, her instructors attention is never on her but on these other three children.

Of course, it is easier to teach competent children. They demand less and are probably more fun. However, I would think that enabling incompetence into competency must be rewarding for any teacher. Am I wrong?

I can imagine how this form of teaching occurs through education at all levels. How slower children can get left behind. How education can fail the less bright. How 1/3 of children enter high school without the 3Rs.

Bunty

2 Comments to “Keep Up, Keep Up!”

  1. My theory is that your child’s swimming teacher isn’t very good. Or they are purposefully not giving the same time to your child as compared to other children as then you will pay for another set of lessons to improve your child’s ability.

    I had swimming lessons as a child and I wasn’t very good. I tried, but didn’t get the support I needed. I subsequently was a rubbish swimmer until two year ago when I took adult swimming lessons. As an adult, there is no way I would pay for a lesson and then be ignored for most of it, so now I can swim just fine. I just wish I had known to be more vocal when I was younger.

  2. Thanks for your comments Mysterious Pinkie. I too have started swimming lessons as an adult and am loving swimming. It has helped my daughter begin to get over her fears as she sees me learning.

    We talked to her teacher over the weekend and she took our comments on board. her lesson was better and I hope that we will see better teaching.

Leave a Reply

