Hall Of Fame: Vena Ramphal

Vena Ramphal has an unusual career for an Asian woman and has created her own niche as a sex expert and passion coach. She holds one to one sessions, workshops, salons at high end erotic boutique Coco De Mer and is quoted in a number of magazines including GQ and can be followed on twitter @VenaRhampal.

Her workshop “Tearing Up the Good Girl Script” epitomises Vena as she believes that women spend too much of their time pleasing and being good girls when they should be focussing their energies on being happy.

What made you become a passion coach? I’ve been fascinated by romance for as long as I can remember. I was lucky enough to be exposed to Indian philosophy as a child. By the time I was a teenager, I was reading texts from other Sanskrit traditions, including romantic and erotic poetry. I loved this very sophisticated approach to emotion. I had a big life change in 2005 when I decided to complete my marriage. My own journey in love was the catalyst for me to create passion coaching. I also completed a PhD around the same time. I had a space in my life for something new. With my training in philosophy, yoga-tantra and coaching, and my deep fascination for the erotic space, I created Passion Coaching.

How did your family respond to your choice of career? It rarely occurs to me to ask others’ opinions about my choices. I tend to just get on with things.

What challenges have you faced in your career? Creating something unique means that there is only so much you can learn from others. Ultimately, it’s down to me. I have, however, learnt a lot from several inspiring people who have forged their own unique careers.

What is your favourite food? Organic dark chocolate.

How do you relax? Reading, walking, watching fun & uplifting films, spa time.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be and why? New York City. Because it’s New York City.

What mantra do you live by? My body knows best.

What is your favourite film? Lots. If I could only choose one it would be Sex and The City, The Movie.

Who would be present at your fantasy dinner party? (5 guests plus you) Coco Chanel, Queen Elizabeth I, Anna Wintour, Cleopatra, Oprah Winfrey

Quote of the day… ‘As the Spider spins its web from its own saliva, so it becomes both the material and instrumental cause [of its own creation].’ From the Upanishads – esoteric Sanskrit texts.

Leave a Reply

