Respect

Oxford Dictionary definition: a feeling of deep admiration for someone or something elicited by their abilities, qualities, or achievements

Asian definition: Do as your elder tells you.

How many of us have fallen short of respecting our elders due to our behaviour or attitude? Probably most. Just by asking a question you are seen as disrespectful rather than independent thinking or intelligent. In fact, I often hear “you think you are too clever, but we know best”. In the Asian culture, respect is automatically given to anyone older than you and one tradition that really irks me is that of bowing down and touching your elders feet.

Whilst this is not something that happens on a daily basis in most families, the tradition is upheld during auspicious occassions such as weddings, birthdays, Diwali / new year’s etc…. It is a tradition that I have rebelled against most of my life and will avoid to do at all costs simple because I do not believe that bowing down to anyone is necessary to be respectful. I despise the tradition and feel that it always puts the person bowing in an inferior position for no reason.

I am a firm believer that respect is earned and would like to see this tradition aborted.

Bunty

 

One Comment to “Respect”

  1. There are lots of so called traditions I’d like to see the back of:
    – emotional blackmail to go see family/parents more often than you want to
    – preferring male children to females ones
    – it’s ok for men to drink themselves into oblivion, but not women
    – women make the food and tea…

    I could go on forever, but I think you catch my drift.

Leave a Reply

