Incy Wincy Spider

This silk dress took 8 years to create because it’s made from …shudder… spider silk!

Produced in Madagascar from the help of over 1 million little spiders, it’s certainly not a dress for the faint-hearted.  I guess it is pretty and if you just didn’t think about where the silk came from it would stop the goosebumps, or would it?

Bubbly

 

3 Comments to “Incy Wincy Spider”

  1. I read once that you could make a vest out of spider silk that was better than any bullet proof vest because of how strong it is. Now I can see a point to a bullet proof vest, but why is this silk dress better than a normal one?

    I am so stupidly scared of spiders it’s not funny, but I’m actually interested to know what this silk feels like. It probably because I don’t associate spiders with nice bright looking things…

  2. Arachnophobia comes to mind. I hope there are no little spider eggs in this.
    However, I am going to the V&A to see this with my daughter.

  3. Urgh the dress looks and sounds hideous .. and why on earth would you put it on the palest girl ever mmmm really sets off the yellow!

Leave a Reply

