Warning: Strong Cheese Ahead

Happy St Valentine’s Day!♥  If you haven’t written your cards yet, perhaps these delightful Sufi poems will inspire you:

When the sweet glance of my true love caught my eyes,
Like alchemy, it transformed my copper-like soul.
I searched for Him with a thousand hands,
He stretched out His arms and clutched my feet.

From Thief of Sleep, Shahram Shiva

 

A Smile and A Gentleness

There is a smile and a gentleness
inside. When I learned the name

and address of that, I went to where
you sell perfume. I begged you not

to trouble me so with longing. Come
out and play! Flirt more naturally.

Teach me how to kiss. On the ground
a spread blanket, flame that’s caught

and burning well, cumin seeds browning,
I am inside all of this with my soul.

From Essential Rumi by Coleman Bark

 

‘The Puzzle’
Someone who keeps aloof from suffering
is not a lover. I choose your love
above all else. As for wealth
if that comes, or goes, so be it.
Wealth and love inhabit separate worlds.

But as long as you live here inside me,
I cannot say that I am suffering.

Sanai, translation by Coleman Barks – ‘Persian Poems’

 

Suddenly the drunken sweetheart appeared out of my door.
She drank a cup of ruby wine and sat by my side.
Seeing and holding the lockets of her hair
My face became all eyes, and my eyes all hands.

From Thief of Sleep, Shahram Shiva

Bubbly

Leave a Reply

