Red Lipstick

Research conducted by the Universite de Bretagne-Sud, France, revealed that male customers are 50% more likely to tip waitresses wearing red lipstick over any other colour.

 

The deduction is thought to be all down to that most basic of human motivations: sex. Red lips, the Times reports the researchers as saying, are ‘associated with an indication of oestrogen levels, sexual arousal and health’. wearing red lipstick is said to be a sign of being sexually aroused. I cannot say that on the few occasions that I have worn red lipstick that I have been sexually aroused, but that I have wanted to look sexy and red has given me that confidence.

Interestingly, lip colour paid no part in whether women tipped or not. I wonder what men would have to do cosmetically to encourage women to tip more?

Bunty

6 Comments to “Red Lipstick”

  1. When I had serving jobs, I swear I’d get more tips when I wore Victoria’s Secret’s Sexy Little Thing perfume!

  2. Yayyy! I am going to wear red lippie tomorrow!

  3. I love red lippie, the most compliments I get when I wear it is from women. My faves are the ones with orange/coral tones – the louder the better!!

    I don’t know about more tips but wearing red is such fun and my nieces love seeing me in it too.

  4. Reblogged this on The Life and Times of JVS. and commented:
    From The Chatterjis- something interesting to mull over whilst cooking the tea!

  5. Haha that’s an amazing fact, love it!

  6. I love to wear red lipstick – it makes me feel so super sexy ! But i’m constantly retouching and licking teeth – very high maintenance !

Leave a Reply

