The Great Gatsby

Classic literature has always been a thorn in my side. I love modern literature and have often shied away from the wordy and lengthy writing as well as the endurance that comes with classics.

So recently, I took it upon myself to start wading through my list of classic books that I want to read before the big 40, starting with “The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald in 1925.

Normally, I can read a book within days, but this took me 6 weeks to read…….

Not because it wasn’t a good book or that I didn’t enjoy it. In fact, I really did enjoy it, but it was laborious and I had to keep rereading pages as I got lost in who said what….

Nevertheless, the book had it all. Suspense, drama, love, tragedy, humour, wit and a twist. That’s why they call a great classic. Would highly recommend if you haven’t read it already.

Bunty

Leave a Reply

