Taliban Plus

Taliban Plus is how an editor of a women’s magazine in India described Indian mentality towards women.  In fact she goes on to declare Indian mentality as worse than the Taliban as at least with the Taliban you know where you stand.

This outrage at Indian society’s attitude towards women has been drawn into the spotlight once more as a shocking sexual assault on a woman in Assam reached the national media.  The hand-wringing that followed then drew in the report by the G20 survey that named and shamed India as the second worst place to be a woman in the world, topped only by Saudi Arabia.

I have spent a significant proportion of the last five years of my life living and working in Delhi and work often requires me to travel around India.  As a single, foreign woman living in my own apartment, I think I am very fortunate to have chosen Delhi as my base over any other city in India.  The strange thing is that the perception of Indians is that Delhi is less safe and more conservative than other parts of India but I have only seen evidence to the contrary.  All the other major cities including ‘cosmopolitan’ Bangalore and Mumbai have seen shocking and disgusting attacks on women for having the audacity to enjoy a drink in a bar or wear something short.

The sad fact is that I have become immune to the daily newspaper stories of various types of violent assault on women.  How is this possible you ask since it is so shocking?  I am not exaggerating: pick up any Indian broadsheet on any day of the week and there will be at least 6 rape stories, a few murders of women and the regular abuse story.  They are so depressing.  I am a feminist and a strong one.  I feel so much anger and rage when I read stories of perverted villagers ‘teaching a woman a lesson’ by stripping her naked and parading her around for the men to mastrubate over that I stopped reading the reports.   Often she is the punished for the crime of a husband, father or brother.

But that is exactly how we are supposed to react: indifferent.  So what if a woman is abused, you’re lucky it’s not you. But what can be done??  I feel quite exasperated by it all.  Feminism starts at home and all too often girls are let down by their mothers and fathers long before anyone else betrays them.

Bubbly

 

 

One Comment to “Taliban Plus”

  1. I am not positive where you’re getting your info, however good topic.

    I must spend some time studying much more or working out more.
    Thanks for wonderful information I used to be on the
    lookout for this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

