Nobu London

nobu london
Nobu is one of those marmite restaurants that people either love or hate.  A friend went a while ago and was hit with a £500 bill between four and frankly speaking, that did put me off a little.  I love sushi but always feel hungry after a couple of hours and would not appreciate a rumbling tummy after a hefty bill.

Having said that, every time I have had sushi at a restaurant with a Nobu guest chef (most notably Sushi Say in Willesden Green and Yuzu in West Hampstead), I have enjoyed the sushi so much that I have always thought I really ought to go to the real thing – preferably on a night that Mr Beckham is also in town!

So, I was simply delighted to be invited to a party in Nobu and see for myself whether it is anything worth writing about.  In short, I would advise you to book restaurants that have guest chefs attending as Nobu is simply not worth the extra £450.

We started with a simply marvellous salmon tartare that was beautifully presented in a small oval dish in soya sauce.  I found the soya a little over powering but was able to drain it off my cute little spoon and it was delicious, just melted in your mouth – simply exquisite.  I tasted my friend’s vegetarian version which was the same dish but made with avocado and I am not exaggerating, I had to take a drink of my over priced wine to get rid of the disgusting taste out of my mouth.

The second course was black cod. Mmmm – divine.  The flavours were perfect and it was excellenty cooked and presented. My mouth is watering even now.  My vegetarian friend had a floppy disgusting looking watery aubergine. Given my previous experience I decided not to steal any more of his meal!

The main was beef steak – I had requested the vegetarian meal and I was beginning to regret that decision.  Sure enough, when it arrived my heart sank as I was presented with a tofu “steak”. Yuck. I ate it out of politeness but it was gross, it came with two sauces. One tasted like a sticky icky molasses sauce and the other was a sticky icky honey sauce. Oh, I just want to forget it. Let’s move on.

We then moved on to a selection of sushi – there were five pieces altogether.  I was starting to feel very full by now but managed to eat all five pieces (good for me!) – the first was tuna sushi which was delicious. I found the sea bass a little chewy but the rest of the plate was very delicate.  One thing I found a little shocking was the presentation, honestly, Itsu roll a better sushi than what I was presented with. My now very-hungry starving vegetarian friend ploughed through bland veggie sushi that tasted as bland as it looked.

Dessert was the worst.  I have a 30 year unblemished record of alwasy finishing my dessert but it was in Nobu that I met my match. I simply could not finish the Green Tea mascarpone pudding that was inedible. The green tea “bits” were swirled around in a creamy dessert and I have to admit, that it looked like mould.  I wish it tasted better than it looked but it didn’t. Have you ever had an unpleasant taste in your mouth after drinking green tea? Imagine that being “dessert” ! All I can say is,  no wonder Japanese women are so slim!

nobu_night430

Overall, as you can see above my night was exquisite and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.  It did not wow me so much that I am planning any repeat visits – I simply do not feel like I have missed out on a great secret.

And if you are interested, my veggie friend got a pizza on his way home.

Bubbly

One Comment to “Nobu London”

  1. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did
    you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply
    as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. cheers

Leave a Reply

