Crime and Punishment

crime and punishment

I have a beautiful hard back copy of the literary classic, Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.  Even my copy with its font size 7 type it is the size of a brick.  I have been looking at it for years thinking about reading, feeling guilty that I hadn’t, so a few days ago I finally picked it up and read the foreword.   The following day one of my best friends rang me to say she had two tickets to watch Crime and Punishment at the Citz in Glasgow and I jumped with glee to be given a sneak preview into the book later that evening.

If you’re not fortunate enough to have been to a production at the Citz, make it a point to go.  The atmosphere is great and the quality of productions is fab.  It’s a rather long play but the story is compelling and the newly refurbed theatre is comfortable so time flies by.

I never knew anything about Crime and Punishment before I saw the play so I’m reluctant to go into the story for this review.  However, this famous quote is as relevant today as it was over a hundred years ago:

“Everybody wants to change the world. Nobody thinks to change himself.”

Bubbly

Leave a Reply

